Skip Global Navigation to Main Content
Skip Breadcrumb Navigation
US Consulates in Canada

Please click on the links to the left for information related to the hours and location of each of our Consulates.


If you are an American citizen with an afterhours emergency, please contact the consular office in Canada closest to your location.

U.S. Consulates in Canada

The following information applies to the Embassy and all Consulates General:

  • When writing the Embassy and Consulates General, please include a self-addressed, stamped envelope with your information request.
  • When faxing, please be sure to include your full name and complete mailing address. Faxes are answered in the same manner as written inquiries.
  • Petitions for immediate relatives of legal permanent residents and for employment-based immigration can be filed only in the United States.

U.S. Consular Districts in Canada

Ottawa Eastern Ontario (Kingston, Lanark, Leeds, Prescott, Renfrew, Russell and Stormont); and those parts of the Québec regions of Outaouais and Abitibi-Témiscamingue near Ottawa.
Vancouver British Columbia and Yukon Territory
Calgary Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba and Northwest Territories
Winnipeg Emergency Services Only. For Visa and other services contact the Calgary office
Toronto Ontario (except for areas East of Kingston, which are included in the Ottawa consular district)
Montreal Greater Montreal and the regions of southern Quebec province (Laurentides, Lanaudiere, Laval, Montreal, Montregie, Estrie, and the southern parts of Centre-du-Quebec); including Drummondville
Quebec City Those regions of Quebec province to the north and east of the Montreal and Ottawa Districts (indicated above), plus the territory of Nunavut
Halifax Atlantic Canada (New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia and P.E.I.) and the French islands of St. Pierre & Miquelon.